5th Joint HGS-HIRe & RS-APS Lecture Week on Atomic and Laser/
Plasma Physics - Fall 2017 - Willingen



September 17-22, 2017


Laser-Particle Acceleration for Basic Research and Ion Therapy


Malte Kaluza (U Jena)
Andreas Peters (U Heidelberg)
Sergey Rykovanov (GSI Darmstadt)
Michael Scholz (GSI Darmstadt)


Renate Märtin (RS-APS)
Günter Weber (RS-APS)
Gerhard Burau (HGS-HIRe)

Agenda (preliminary)

Our lecture weeks are interdisciplinary events that cover different aspects of experimental and theoretical physics together. The aim for this year's joint lecture week on atomic and laser/plasma physics is to discuss innovative concepts for laser-particle acceleration and their application for basic research and ion therapy. The lecture week includes a visit at the Marburg Ion Therapy Center. Students from other fields of research, who are interested in these topics, are very welcome to attend this lecture week too.

For registration, please send a brief email to info(at)hgs-hire.de as soon as possible.

  Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
Sep 17 Sep 18 Sep 19 Sep 20 Sep 21 Sep 22
Travel to Willingen

and Arrival/Check-in
Lecture Plasma
Theory I
Lecture Plasma
Theory II
Group Work Trip to Marburg Lecture Ion
Therapy I
10:45-11:00 Break Break Break Break
Lecture Laser
Acceleration I
Lecture Laser
Acceleration II
Group Work Lecture Ion
Therapy II
Lunch Lunch Lunch Lunch
Group Work Group Work Social activity Bus to MIT (14:45)

Lecture MIT (15:30)

Guided tour (17:00)
Student Talks

16:00-16:30 Break Break Travel from Willingen

Finalizing Talks Student Talks
Dinner Dinner Dinner Dinner Dinner
Welcome Questions/Wrap-up Questions/Wrap-up Questions/Wrap-up Bus to Willingen

Participant Talks

Each participant will contribute in a presentation prepared by a team of two participants. The topics will be arranged together with the lecturers. Hence the presentation will not be on your own scientific work but will be connected to the topic of the lecture week. Subjects will be given in due time before the lecturer week.

Practical Information


Arrival at "Landhaus Lieb'Lommerke" in Willingen and check-in are on Sunday, September 17, in the late afternoon. After dinner, there is a welcome and introduction session followed by a get-together.
The scientific part of the lecture week starts on Monday morning and closes on Friday afternoon.

Late arrivals

If you will arrive late please contact the coordinators in advance so key pick up can be arranged.


The seminar will be at "Landhaus Lieb'Lommerke" >, In der Lommerke 1, D-34508 Willingen.


Travel from Jena will be by car pools organized by RS-APS. In case you want to make use of this travel option from Jena, please directly contact Renate Märtin and/or Günter Weber in advance.
For the HGS-HIRe participants from the Rhein-Main-Neckar area, travel will be arranged individually (please use public transport or car pools). Directions can be found >here.


Accomodation is mostly in twin bed rooms. If you want to share the room with a particular roommate, please inform the coordinators in advance.


Full board is included in the lecture week. Special food requirements (vegetarian, other) should be communicated to Renate Märtin and/or Günter Weber in advance.

What to bring

Clothing: The lecture week will be very informal, so only casual attire necessary.
Linen/towel: All rooms have linen and towels, no need to bring them. Shower gel / shampoo and hair dryers are provided.


Wireless internet access is available. Please bring your own laptop.


All basic expenses are covered by RS-APS and HGS-HIRe, respectively. All meals are included.


Though this trip will not generate any costs for your supervisor or group please do not forget to file a trip request so you are covered by accident insurance during the lecture week. Please ask the secretary of your official supervisor at the university for the appropriate form.


  1. Hendrik Bernhardt
  2. Benjamin Grabiger
  3. Jiri Hofbrucker
  4. Dominik Hollatz
  5. Kristian König
  6. Anton Peshkov
  7. Tim Ratajczyk
  8. Annika Schmitt
  9. Nils Stallkamp
  10. Issa Tamer
  11. Abel H. Woldegeorgis
  12. Sero Zähter
  13. Kristina Zerbe
  14. Yinyu Zhang
  15. Marc Zimmer
  16. Bernhard Maaß
  17. ...
© 2008-2017 Helmholtz Association + Helmholtz Graduate School